Clean and Simple card for CASology challenge week 274

Hi everyone… Erica here… or the sickly-beast more like it this last week. I haven’t had much luck getting over this cold that has me in a vice grip and I’ve been busy creating snot and mucus rather than cards and fun stuff.

I get that ‘ants in my pants’ feeling if I go too long without getting my crafting on so today I was looking for something simple to do that would satisfy the creative itch. I’m sure I’m giving you all sorts of nasty visuals with my analogies.. sorry about that, I have a way with words at times.

Anyway, so as I was scrolling through Instagram (my main source of inspiration) I came across a card one of my IG friends has made for this week’s challenge over on CASology (@CASologychallenge instagram link, website link CASology) The cue word is ‘tiny’ this week and I thought I might give it a go.

15BCBCFE-EA7A-49BD-AB19-47742355BA7E

I have a habit of colouring lots of images and not putting them all on cards, as a result of this I have probably hundreds of already coloured, ready to use images laying around. One of these came in very handy today and I selected a cute little bear from the My Favorite Things Bitty Bears. This little cutie is holding a fish, and he is just adorable. As soon as I saw this set I knew it would come and live with me. I also got the Coordinating die-namics, because I am not a fan of fussy-cutting. Just putting that out there.

As I’m feeling quite rotten I made this into a ‘get well card’ but using another My Favorite Things stamp set, aptly called Feel Better. I might have chosen the sentiment I did due to feeling a bit Mamma-sick as I usually do when I’m sick. Mamma-sickness is when you just want your Mamma to come and take care of you, no matter how old you get. Mine lives very far away and when I’m sick, I always get extra emotional and sentimental.

74E6F4D9-BD3D-41CA-9603-68E440025E5A

As this is a clean and simple card (not my forte in all honesty) I got a lovely linen texture card stock out and cut out a scalloped rectangles using the biggest frame from the Winnie & Walter Noelle Essentials Cutaways. I stamped the sentiment in Memento Tuxedo Black ink on this, using my MISTI as the linen textured card stock is difficult to get a perfect stamp the first time around.

I adhered this panel to the white card base using double sided foam sheet, cut to size, and with a little bit of left-over foam I adhered the bear under the sentiment.

CA16A5EE-4131-4876-8BFE-FE79CAC48599

It is really hard for me to keep things proper ‘Clean And Simple’, I always want to add sequins or enamel dots or something! Making myself walk away with just this on the card took some willpower. And a needy little chica actually. Turns out it was dinner time for the furry beasts so that helped me from adding anything else. Who says pets aren’t helpful in the craft room?? 🤣

This little card didn’t take me long to make at all, seeing as I had the little bear already stamped, coloured and cut out. The rest took hardly any time at all. Maybe a bit longer than it would have taken me when I’m completely well and full of enthusiasm but not that much longer.

487E7F0E-25AE-4659-80C4-6BBADD0C146C

With that, I’m off to scrounge up some dinner for myself and The Man, who is also very sick still. Takeaway pizza is looking more and more likely.

Happy Hump-day and see you all next time!

Erica

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Clean and Simple card for CASology challenge week 274

  1. Crafty Rat says:

    Your little bear is adorable! Clean and simple is soooo hard… every time I try it I always think that it “needs something else” and yet I look at other people’s cards and it seems like it should be simple!

    Like

    • erica1ab says:

      Thank you so much, Char, I appreciate that so much! You gotta love MFT, they have something for every single occasion, don’t they??

      Like

  2. Joyce M. says:

    What an adorable tiny image. Perfectly colored, and so nice that you have already colored images ready to go. Hope your cold is gone soon. Thanks so much for playing along at CASology this week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

